The Hate You Give, by Angie Thomas

Standard

This book was a true page turner!  There is some explicit language and it involves the shooting of an African American teenager by a white police officer.  Race is a BIG theme in this book, and the author gives a very true and accurate portrayal of what is it like to be a black girl (and family really) living between two races.  All of the characters were developed superbly, the pace of the book was quick and I found myself sticking my kindle in my purse whenever we had to drive somewhere to get as much reading time in as I could!  Starr, the main character, has real struggles, none of which I would have thought about had I not entered her world

Parents, do a quick review of this book before letting your kids read it.  Here is a link that will give your more info:

http://www.slate.com/blogs/browbeat/2017/04/21/angie_thomas_bestselling_ya_novel_the_hate_u_give_focuses_on_the_emotional.html

Happy Reading Everyone!  I need a new book!  Any recommendations?

Beth

a.jpg

 

 

Leave a Reply

